Why HealthBaby? > Most successful transplant cases in HK

Does stem cells can be used for transplantation?

The Most Successful Transplant Cases in Hong Kong

5 children have successfully restored their healthy life using the cord blood stem cells stored in HealthBaby

Successful Transplant Cases in Hong Kong

5 children have successfully restored their healthy after transplants.

Global successful transplant cases

There are over 60,000 successful cord blood transplant cases over the world

Potential application of stem cells

The number of FDA regulated clinical trials related to cord blood medical applications is constantly on the rise each year.

How to Choose a Cord Blood Bank FAQs

Any questions? Check most asked questions by the parent.

The Most Successful Transplant Cases in Hong Kong

HealthBaby Hong Kong is the cord blood bank with the most transplant cases in Hong Kong. 2 children suffered from cerebral palsy and 1 child suffered from neuroblastoma were successfully treated by cord blood they saved at HealthBaby upon birth, 1 more child suffered from Fanconi’s Anemia successfully used related allogeneic cord blood for transplantation. In 2022, 1 child suffered from Thalassemia Major successfully used related allogeneic cord blood for transplantation.

Autologous Transplants in Hong Kong

Release No. Year of Therapy Medical Condition Transplant Region Transplant Hospital
1 2010 Cerebral Palsy United States The Duke University Medical Center
2 2011 Cerebral Palsy United States The Duke University Medical Center
3 2013 Neuroblastoma Hong Kong Queen Mary Hospital

Related Allogeneic Transplants in Hong Kong

Release No. Year of Therapy Medical Condition Transplant Region Transplant Hospital
1 2014 Fanconi’s Anemia Hong Kong Queen Mary Hospital
2 2022 Thalassemia Major Hong Kong Hong Kong Children’s Hospital

Most Asked Questions by Parents Related to Cord Blood Banking

What disease can cord blood heal?

Until June 2016, up to 113 diseases had been treated with cord blood transplants5,6. They could be divided into 7 categories, namely: Leukemia, Lymphomas, other Disorders of Blood Cell Proliferation, Inherited Disorders of Immune System, Inherited Metabolic Disorders, other Cancers and others.

Detail about 113 treatable disease please refer to Diseases Treated by Cord Blood Transplantation.

What is the difference between cord blood and umbilical cord?

Cord blood and umbilical blood contain two different stem cells which are widely adopted in different medical aspects. Cord blood is a rich source of HSCs which can create the blood and immune cells. Cancers, blood-related, immunity and metabolic diseases can be treated by cord blood. Umbilical cord is a rich source of MSCs which can create structural and connective tissues. Apart from minimizing GvHD in directed and unrelated allogeneic cord blood transplants, MSCs can apply to chronic illnesses treatment, regenerative medicines as well as organ and tissue engineering. Since cord blood and umbilical cord are rich sources of different types of stem cells, they may help to repair the body in different ways.

Can the cord blood and umbilical cord be stored permanently?

Stem cells will stop all physiological activities and remain dormant in -196℃ liquid nitrogen. Therefore, the stem cells can be permanently stored theoretically19. Professor Hal E. Broxmeyer (microbiology and immunology) is a pioneer who advocates of cord blood stem cells cryogenic storage. He proved that stem cells stored for years were still very regenerative, indicating that the stem cells stored in 1985 and 1986 could still be applied to patients for transplant33.

On the contrary, there is no factual basis for the claim of stem cells being able to store permanently under -135℃. Noted that using the vapor nitrogen storage system would cause temperature fluctuation upon stem cells storage and thawing and seriously affect the viability of all samples' stem cells.

Almost all public cord blood banks, including worldwide large blood banks, use liquid nitrogen for stem cells storage.

How much does the cord blood storage service charge?

Entrusted by most parents in Hong Kong1, Healthbaby has a very comprehensive service coverage. Apart from the traditional liquid nitrogen storage plan, HealthBaby also pioneered to provide the advanced BioArchive® System. All storage plan of HealthBaby adopts the expensive liquid nitrogen as storage medium to provide the most stable tempertature for stem cell viability, providing the most quality umbilical cord and cord blood storage service.

To cater for different needs of clients, HealthBaby's cord blood and umbilical cord storage plan have very flexible and comprehensive service plan. Regarding cord blood plan, clients could select the storage plan base on the storage and processing system needs.

The umbilical cord and cord blood service fee already includes registration fee, processing fee and 18 years storage fee, no any additional charge during the contracted year. Extra discounted would be provided for registering both umbilical cord and cord blood storage plan. HealthBaby existing customers and other cord blood bank customers could also enjoy special offers. Please contact us for deatils and any enquiries.

For more details of cord blood service plan please refer to Service Plan.

More Questions?

Contact us through any method below:

Hotline: (+852)3188-8899 / (+853)2878-6717
WhatsApp: (+852)9660-8271 or Click Here
WeChat Official Account: HealthBaby 生寶臍帶血庫
Online: Click here to submit the enquiry online
Email: enquiry@healthbaby.hk

選擇生寶的原因 > 全港最多臍帶血成功移植案例

成功移植案例是儲存品質的最佳佐證

全港最多成功移植案例
守護每個家庭的最強後盾

5 位利用儲存於生寶的臍帶血作移植的小朋友均已康復

自體及近親移植案例

國證認證由第三方專業機構頒發,引證臍帶血庫品質。

臍帶血移植案例

造血幹細胞可治療多達 113 種疾病及全球已有多宗移植案例。

臍帶血移植的優勢

對比骨髓移植,以臍帶血移植擁有更多的優點及更高成功配對率。

選擇臍帶血庫的常見問題

對比骨髓移植,以臍帶血移植擁有更多的優點及更高成功配對率。

全港最多臍帶血及臍帶膜成功移植案例

香港生寶是全港促成最多成功臍帶血移植案例的臍帶血庫。2 位患有腦麻痺及 1 位患有神經母細胞瘤的小朋友成功使用出生時儲存於生寶的臍帶血進行移植,另有 1 位患有范康尼氏貧血症的小朋友成功使用近親臍帶血進行移植,2022年有 1 位患有重型地中海貧血症的小朋友使用近親臍帶血進行移植治療,5 人手術後康復進度良好。

移植案例:神經母細胞瘤

移植年份:2013

移植地點:瑪麗醫院

移植案例:范康尼氏貧血症

移植年份:2014

移植地點:瑪麗醫院

集團臍帶血成功移植案例

集團臍帶膜移植經驗

臍帶血造血幹細胞及臍帶血儲存常見問題

直至 2016 年 6 月,臨床證實臍帶血可用作移植治療的疾病高達 113 種5,6,當中可以歸納為 7 大類別:白血病(俗稱血癌)、淋巴腫瘤、其他血細胞增殖疾病、遺傳性免疫系統疾病(所有治療為異體移植)、遺傳性代謝疾病、其他癌症等範疇。

有關 113 種疾病的詳細列表您亦可以瀏覽臍帶血可醫治的疾病

臍帶血及臍帶膜內含三種不同的幹細胞,被應用於不同的醫學領域上。臍帶血內蘊含豐富的造血幹細胞(HSCs),能分化成各種血液及免疫系統細胞,用於治療惡性腫瘤(癌症)、血液、免疫系統不全及代謝異常等疾病;而臍帶內則蘊含豐富的上皮幹細胞及間質幹細胞,除了可減低近親及異體臍帶血移植出現排斥的機會外,亦可用於治療後天的慢性疾病、器官老化及組織再生修復。因為兩者含有不同類型的幹細胞,所以專門修補人體的不同器官及組織。

在恆溫 -196℃ 液態氮中,幹細胞會停止一切生理活動並處於休眠狀態,因此理論上可以無限期保存19。Hal E. Broxmeyer,微生物學及免疫學教授是支持冷藏臍帶血的先駒者。他引証經多年冷藏的臍帶血幹細胞仍有極高的復生能力,表明於 1985 和 1986 年冷藏的臍帶血仍可施用於病人33

相反,坊間其他臍帶血庫聲稱幹細胞只需在 -135℃ 便可作永久保存並沒有依據,而且使用傳統氣態氮儲存系統會使每次樣本存取時令系統內因氣體流失以致氣溫不穩,嚴重影響系統內所有樣本的幹細胞活性。

全球接近所有公營血庫包括紐約捐血中心、東京臍帶血庫及世界多間大型血庫,均使用液態氮作儲存媒介。

生寶是全港最多父母選擇的臍帶血庫1,服務計劃全面,除了提供開蓋式液態氮儲存系統計劃外,更是全港唯一備有最先進的 BioArchive® 液態氮全自動儲存系統的私營臍帶血庫。生寶所有計劃均採用高成本液態氮作儲存媒介,堅持以最穩定的溫度保持幹細胞的活性,為準父母提供最高品質的臍帶及臍帶血儲存服務。

生寶備有靈活及周全的臍帶血儲存服務計劃,照顧不同客戶的需要,客戶可按儲存及處理系統選擇合適的計劃。服務計劃收費已包括登記費用、處理費用及 18 年的儲存費用,期間沒有額外收費。若果臍帶及臍帶血一併儲存,更可尊享額外折扣優惠。生寶現有客戶及其他臍帶血庫客戶亦可享特別禮遇,詳情可向我們查詢。

有關臍帶血服務計劃收費可以瀏覽計劃及收費

還有很多問題想查詢?

可以透過以下聯絡方式跟我們專業的顧問團隊聯絡。

聯絡電話:(+852)3188-8899 / (+853)2878-6717
WhatsApp:(+852)9660-8271 或 按此
微信公衆號:HealthBaby 生寶臍帶血庫
網上表格:按此填寫表格與我們聯絡,收到後我們將儘快回覆
電郵聯繫:enquiry@healthbaby.hk